HOME |
FORUM
|
CONTACT US
|
#1
| |||
| |||
| Soulseek Hmmm. I've downloaded and installed the program and when I open it, a box pops up demanding that I phone a premium rate phone number. Is this normal? If so, is it just a one-off, AND how much will it cost? Any help appreciated. |
|
#2
| |||
| |||
| nah that aint normal at all mate sounds like u got some adware/spyware on ur pc or something www.slsknet.org is the official soulseek site.... get some ad removal software as well www.download.com and search for adaware |
|
#3
| |||
| |||
| Thanks Johns. The URL you posted is where I downloaded it from. I ran Spybot on my PC and removed everything suspicious, following your advice. Then I tried to run the program for the first time again and a German dialogue came up, demanding that I phone some premium rate number. Maybe it has changed since you installed it on your computer or maybe something sinister is going on. Anyway, thanks for taking the trouble to reply, and if you think of anything else, please let me know!! |
|
#4
| |||
| |||
| nah thats well dodgy that mate i installed soulseek on this pc today cos its a shitter for not connecting and a uninstall reinstall sorts it and didnt get none of that carry on |
|
#5
| |||
| |||
| theres some spyware on your PC thats not soulseek thats giving you that box like johns_ar says. Try updating your adware program as well make sure its up to date and run it again. Uninstall the SS you got on it and try reinstalling it from the link johns_ar gave ya. Also giz a screenshot of this dialogue box and we can delet it out your registry |
|
#6
| |||
| |||
| SUCCESS !!! Thanks for all your help, johns_ar and cam. You were quite right, some scum had managed to put some scum on my computer! I updated Spybot, and wasn't happy with the search results, then downloaded ADAware, which found plenty of filth that spybot didn't. Theres a lesson there!! Once again, thanks very much for the help - now to get some tunes... |
|
#7
| |||
| |||
| Right i can explain what's probably happened here The old soulseek site was www.slsk.org This domain expired a few months ago and soulseek forgot to renew it. Someone sneaked in and bought the domain and has set up a fake soulseek site which basically installs dodgy spyware on your computer, and is nothing to do with soulseek The official soulseek site is now as andy says www.slsknet.org, where you should be able to download the newest version (151) spyware free Whether it'll connect after you download it is another matter, cos the server seems to be down loads at the moment (as it is at the time of writing) |
|
#8
| |||
| |||
| I think you've solved the problem. Thats almost certainly what happened. BEWARE OF www.slsk.org !!!!! |
| Sponsored Links |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
| |