It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

HOME  |  FORUM  |  CONTACT US     

Old Skool Anthemz  

 
3 in 1 Search - Gemm, Netsounds & Musicstack
Search over 60 million vinyl/cd's for sale now! (more info)
 

Go Back   Old Skool Anthemz > Forum > General > Help

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th November 2003, 07:00 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North West
Posts: 14
Soulseek

Hmmm.

I've downloaded and installed the program and when I open it, a box pops up demanding that I phone a premium rate phone number.

Is this normal?

If so, is it just a one-off, AND how much will it cost?

Any help appreciated.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th November 2003, 07:14 PM
Certified No-Life'er
 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,560
nah that aint normal at all mate sounds like u got some adware/spyware on ur pc or something

www.slsknet.org is the official soulseek site....

get some ad removal software as well

www.download.com and search for adaware
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th November 2003, 08:44 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North West
Posts: 14
Thanks Johns.
The URL you posted is where I downloaded it from.
I ran Spybot on my PC and removed everything suspicious, following your advice.
Then I tried to run the program for the first time again and a German dialogue came up, demanding that I phone some premium rate number.
Maybe it has changed since you installed it on your computer or maybe something sinister is going on.
Anyway, thanks for taking the trouble to reply, and if you think of anything else, please let me know!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th November 2003, 11:28 PM
Certified No-Life'er
 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 5,560
nah thats well dodgy that mate

i installed soulseek on this pc today cos its a shitter for not connecting and a uninstall reinstall sorts it and didnt get none of that carry on
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th November 2003, 12:55 PM
cam cam is offline
Registered Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In a world of my own
Posts: 8,760
Send a message via ICQ to cam Send a message via MSN to cam
theres some spyware on your PC thats not soulseek thats giving you that box like johns_ar says. Try updating your adware program as well make sure its up to date and run it again. Uninstall the SS you got on it and try reinstalling it from the link johns_ar gave ya.

Also giz a screenshot of this dialogue box and we can delet it out your registry
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th November 2003, 05:04 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North West
Posts: 14
SUCCESS !!!

Thanks for all your help, johns_ar and cam.

You were quite right, some scum had managed to put some scum on my computer!

I updated Spybot, and wasn't happy with the search results, then downloaded ADAware, which found plenty of filth that spybot didn't.

Theres a lesson there!!

Once again, thanks very much for the help - now to get some tunes...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th November 2003, 05:13 PM
Board Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,733
Right i can explain what's probably happened here

The old soulseek site was www.slsk.org

This domain expired a few months ago and soulseek forgot to renew it. Someone sneaked in and bought the domain and has set up a fake soulseek site which basically installs dodgy spyware on your computer, and is nothing to do with soulseek

The official soulseek site is now as andy says www.slsknet.org, where you should be able to download the newest version (151) spyware free

Whether it'll connect after you download it is another matter, cos the server seems to be down loads at the moment (as it is at the time of writing)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th November 2003, 06:22 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North West
Posts: 14
I think you've solved the problem.

Thats almost certainly what happened.

BEWARE OF www.slsk.org !!!!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:36 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0

- Dedicated to the memory of Anthony ROCK-XC -